Page 1 of 2

Tiva and ChibiStudio

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 10:56 pm
by gsmsby
Hi,

I'm new to chibi. I used to code in proprietary OS (TI - RTOS). Could someone help how to setup the chibi (I'm using chibi studio) to use the TIVA port of chibi which is ported by Marco I believe).
So, assuming, I have download the tiva port via github, what should I do next ?

If i just open the demo project and build it, I got the below errors :
Makefile:79: ../../../../os/hal/hal.mk: No such file or directory
Makefile:80: ../../../../community/os/hal/boards/TI_TM4C123G_LAUNCHPAD/board.mk: No such file or directory
Makefile:81: ../../../../community/os/hal/ports/TIVA/TM4C123x/platform.mk: No such file or directory
Makefile:82: ../../../../os/hal/osal/rt/osal.mk: No such file or directory
Makefile:83: ../../../../os/rt/rt.mk: No such file or directory
Makefile:84: ../../../../community/os/rt/ports/ARMCMx/compilers/GCC/mk/port_tm4c123x.mk: No such file or directory
Makefile:85: ../../../../test/rt/test.mk: No such file or directory
Makefile:198: ../../../../os/common/ports/ARMCMx/compilers/GCC/rules.mk: No such file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target `../../../../os/common/ports/ARMCMx/compilers/GCC/rules.mk'. Stop.

14:33:55 Build Finished (took 646ms)




Thank you
Novita

Re: Tiva Support

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:31 pm
by Marco
Hello Novita,

Good to hear someone is trying to use the Tiva port for ChibiOS. :)

The easiest way to start with the Tiva port is by downloading ChibiStudio. The Tiva port is hosted in the community repository of ChibiOS and therefore already included in the community folder of ChibiOS. You can find a demo under ChibiStudio/community/demos/TIVA.

In ChibiStudio go to file->Import->Existing projects into workspace and select a project from the TIVA demo folder described above.

To start your own project just copy and modify a demo project.

Marco

Re: Tiva Support

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:37 pm
by gsmsby
Hi Marco,

Yes, It compiles without error now ! Thanks
By the way, how do I debug the project ?

When I click on debug or run, it says "No binary ...?

and do I use OpenOCD ? over ICDI ?



thank you
Novita

Re: Tiva Support

Posted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:55 pm
by Marco
Where did you put the ChibiStudio folder?
It should be placed in C:\ so you get C:\ChibiStudio


EDIT

Yes to debug the project you use OpenOCD with ICDI if you are using ICDI, i assume you are using the launchpad.
After you setup the debug interface you have to run the debug configuration.

Marco

Re: Tiva Support

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:18 am
by gsmsby
Where did you put the ChibiStudio folder?
It should be placed in C:\ so you get C:\ChibiStudio

Yes, That's where I copy the chibistuio.
Everything compiles fine now.
But, I have trouble to run/debug the project.
Could you please give me more detail information on how to setup the debug setting ...
I use launchpad , so yes, I use ICDI. And ICD driver has been installed.
How do I seup the debug interface ?

and what should I set on debug configuration ?

thank you so much Marco


Novita



EDIT

Yes to debug the project you use OpenOCD with ICDI if you are using ICDI, i assume you are using the launchpad.
After you setup the debug interface you have to run the debug configuration.

Marco

Re: Tiva Support

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:48 am
by Marco
Click run>external tools>external tools... And select the OpenOCD with ICDI and select the ek-tm4c123g launch confiruration of OpenOCD. Then start the debug session with the debug configuration RT-TM4C123G-LAUNCHPAD.

Tomorrow i will write a small setup guide.

Marco

Re: Tiva Support

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 5:06 am
by gsmsby
Hi Marco,

I think that's a good idea.
I tried to debug, but still I got " File not exist" error...


Thank you
Novita

Re: Tiva and ChibiStudio

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 11:54 pm
by Marco
Hello gsmsby,

I splitted your posts from the other topic.

I added an initial guide on how to setup ChibiStudio in combination with the Tiva devices here.
Please let me know if you have any issues.

Marco

Re: Tiva and ChibiStudio

Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2015 11:47 pm
by gsmsby
Hi Marco,

I works like a charm !

Thank you

Re: Tiva and ChibiStudio

Posted: Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:31 am
by gsmsby
Hi Marco,

By the way, is there any example on how to use fatfs on tiva ?
I've seen stm32 -fatfs example , but on tiva.
what files need to be included ?
and how to include them ?

I think I know how to use the fatfs once it's setup.

I use fatfs with tivaware and ti-rtos before, so I'm quite familiar with fatfs, I think ...


Thank you