Stack size question

This forum is dedicated to feedback, discussions about ongoing or future developments, ideas and suggestions regarding the ChibiOS projects are welcome. This forum is NOT for support.
Tectu

Stack size question

Postby Tectu » Mon May 21, 2012 7:30 am

Hello Folks,

After I fixed all the issues I had at the beginning with ChibiOS, I have a question related to the stack and heap.
First, you should notice that I am new to this stuff and just have basic knowledge about things like heap grows upwards, stack downwards etc. etc.

I took the FATFS example for the STM32F103 and ported it to my own board. I can run the test benchmark over the shell etc. I didn't change anything, there's just running the blinker thread, the shell and the fatfs itself. After doing BYTE buffer[4096] in a function which should write to a file on the SD card, the chip run into an unhandled expection whenever I called that function which uses that buffer afterwards with strcpy (the mcu dosen't crash when I call the function I wrote myself, it crashes at the strcpy() call inside that function). After some register viewing, I found out that the stack pointer has the value: 0x20000400 which might be the bottom of the stack.
So, here's my question: I have a STM32F103VET on my board, that thing does have 64kB of SDRAM. Does ChibiOS use so much memory, that I cannot get even 4k of stack in a program, which does nothing beside blinking an LED, running the shell and FATFS?
As I said, I am pretty new to the whole field of embedded stuff. Could it be, that I am doing something horribly wrong, or that I have to set stack limits etc. in ChibiOS?
I could only find the debug and check triggers in chconfig.h.

This is my function:

Code: Select all

static void cmd_write(BaseSequentialStream *chp) {
    FRESULT ferr;
    FIL fdst;
    UINT written;
    BYTE buffer[64];

ferr = f_open(&fdst, "0:log.txt", FA_CREATE_ALWAYS | FA_WRITE | FA_READ);
    if(ferr != FR_OK) {