ChibiStudio, new project from scratch in an arbitrary directory

This forum is about you. Feel free to discuss anything is related to embedded and electronics, your awesome projects, your ideas, your announcements, not necessarily related to ChibiOS but to embedded in general. This forum is NOT for support.
gmontero1959

ChibiStudio, new project from scratch in an arbitrary directory

Postby gmontero1959 » Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:25 pm

Hello,

I'm new to Chibi products. I have have been working for a long time developing products based on ARM and Cortex, and I have experience using RTOS's, like Keil RTX, CMSIS-ROTOS(1) and FreeRTOS, but mainly under Keil IDE, and, for STM32, using Cube and Cube-MX, and now I want to start with Chibi suite. I have used Eclipse a couple of times but just for testing tools, and I'm not an Eclipse expert. I have just installed ChibiStudio and tested the sample project for STM32F091 Nucleo board, and it works fine, but now I want to start playing with the RTOS's and the HAL in a clean way, and I don't know how to start a new barebone project from scratch, perhaps there is a how-to guide but I did´n found it yet.

I have tried copying the sample project to another directory (in another drive), and I couldn't build it yet. I switched to the empty user workplace, imported that project, and tried to build it as it was, then changed the makefile CHIBIOS path and got further but there are still some more dependencies (I get "No rule to make target '../../../os/lib/src/chmboxes.c', needed by 'build/obj/chmboxes.o'"), and besides I actually would like to start with a barebone main() project, with all the setup to use the whole suite, and start creating tasks, and so on. By the way I have also noticed that no OpenOCD device is listed under the external tools icon when I open that imported project (no launch history).